Archive | 5:42 pm

Progress report: beadboard

30 Mar

It’s slow going. I sprained my ankle and that has slowed me down a lot. But, slow or no, it is going. I have been using every weapon in the Dremel arsenal to get the paint out of the grooves of the beadboard. Today, after spending oh, I don’t know maybe ten hours? on just the grooves on this one piece, I said “ENOUGH!” and gave it a few go-overs with the sander before putting on the first coat of boiled linseed oil. It looks really, really nice. I saw a blog somewhere that recommended painting or ink-penning in over left over paint in the grooves, so that’s what I’m going to do. I’m going to look into the Sharpie line of dark brown pens.

It looks good, it feels nice to the touch, and it’s going to be what keeps me going as I get to the detail sanding of the rest of the room. Yay beadboard!