Curtains!

11 Nov

Today was supposed to be a day of major transformations. I had a handyman coming by who was going to install the rest of that striped wallpaper on the downstairs stairwell, install a tin ceiling in the guest bathroom, and wire up the closet -> kitchenette in the guest sitting room. We’d had a date set earlier (in October), but the tin ceiling panels hadn’t arrived by then. We’d be in touch via email and phone. I was sure he’d show. He didn’t. Sigh. So back to the drawing board with finding someone.

In the meantime, I worked on sewing up some drapes for the guest sitting room. I found a very charming P. Kaufmann fabric at Osgood’s (greatest fabric store in New England, if not beyond). It features elephants and viney things and is a heavy cotton velvet. It looks pre-aged. Just the thing. Unfortunately, I under-estimated the amount of blackout fabric I’d need, so I have to go back to get more and sew up one more short central panel.

Summer curtains.

Summer curtains.

Fabric and liner from Osgood's

Fabric and liner from Osgood’s

First panel up. Inspector Walter.

First panel up. Inspector Walter.

Fabric next to wall. Cute!

Fabric next to wall. Cute!

Trying to show the (mostly) finished work.

Trying to show the (mostly) finished work.

At least I managed to get some things done, since I arranged to work from home today to be here for the no-show handyman.

2 Responses to “Curtains!”

  1. Sass November 11, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

    You sew your own curtains? I wish I had confidence enough to do that. I can knit up a fine sweater, or can pounds and pounds of food, but I have zero confidence in sewing up curtains. I spent all day yesterday searching for the right thing in my living room, too. What a nightmare.

    The fabric is perfect, and you have done a beautiful job. I envy your skills.

    • Erica Walch November 12, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

      Oh gosh sewing a straight line seems SOO much easier than knitting or canning to me.

Leave a Reply

