Sconces!

21 Jul
Fourth floor hallway before

Fourth floor hallway before

Fourth floor sconce installed, not on

Fourth floor sconce installed, not on

One painted sconce

One painted sconce

Sconce illuminated

Sconce illuminated

Two painted sconces

Two painted sconces

Close up of sconce

Close up of sconce

Unpainted sconce

Unpainted sconce

I’m hoping that 2013 will mark not only “The Summer of Closets” but also “The Year of Hallways” over here.

Step one in hallway completion was to change the bare lightbulb fixtures for something a little more refined. I bought these sconces from ebay at least six years ago, intending at some point to install them on the 3rd and 4th floor hallways. Last week, I had them rewired to be pull-chain fixtures (rather than the kind operated by those newfangled wall switches) at Brightwood Hardware, a local full-service hardware place (the old fashioned kind, where they help you). Then I painted the fixtures while making a whopping $4.00 at our neighborhood wide tag sale today. Sigh. At least I got the painting done.

Today, I tried to install them myself using the old electrical tape to wrap the wires together method. I wasn’t sure I’d done a totally safe job, so I asked a friend to take a look. He told me that my workmanship wasn’t quite up to code and he fixed it all for me. It took FOREVER because we didn’t have all the screws and things needed, so we had to rustle up parts and he had to put in some plate thing to make the vintage fixtures fit in the outlet boxes. Whatever — now they’re up and they work and they’re safe and look like a Venetian palazzo (or Barney Miller’s station house).

4 Responses to “Sconces!”

  1. Sass July 22, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

    Looks lovely! As usual, your taste is immaculate.

    • Erica Walch July 22, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

      Aw, thanks! If only I could wiggle my nose and the rest would just materialize. Sigh.

  2. erin@designcrisis July 25, 2013 at 10:18 am #

    You have been very busy, friend. I’m pretty sure that you could be a contractor by now, right?

    • Erica Walch July 26, 2013 at 4:58 pm #

      I wish! Then I could afford to pay someone to do all this work.

Leave a Reply

