The Summer of Closets has begun!

4 Jul

I’m on a limited budget this summer and am saving to try to get some storm windows installed this Fall, so I’ve decided that the interior work I can do this season is closets. There are six closets or closet-like spaces that need some attention and there’s no time like the present to do this budget-friendly work. So I started today (also because it’s a million degrees outside and it’s much nicer to be inside in the a/c than outside sweltering).

This was the guest room closet:

White walls and shelf

White walls and shelf

Cracked and junky walls

Cracked and junky walls

White walls, brown floor, Claudette is disgusted.

White walls, brown floor, Claudette is disgusted.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was fine, but it was pretty low-end, and clearly a neglected guest room type closet. Well, I rent my guest room out on AirBnB, so I wanted it to be a little nicer for my guests. So in keeping with the low budget theme, I rounded up the leftover paint from the ceiling (which happened to be named Baby Turtle, of all things) and got to work, under the watchful eyes of Claudette.

 

Claudette inspecting closet

Claudette inspecting closet

Closet being painted.

Closet being painted.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s amazing what a coat of paint can do. I also took out a remnant of the dining room carpet and cut it to fit the floor. It looks really nice and it feels nice to walk on. The whole thing took about three hours, and it looks fantastic in there now. It’s a very nice closet, instead of an icky guest room closet.

Nicely painted, carpeted closet.

Nicely painted, carpeted closet.

Another view of the completed closet.

Another view of the completed closet.

Long view of completed closet with carpeted floor.

Long view of completed closet with carpeted floor.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next up for this space — I need to get a threshold, a full-length mirror, some nice wooden hangers, a shade for the exposed bulb, and a fancier pull chain. And that will mean the guest bedroom will be 100% (or 150%) complete. And that will be the only room in the house that doesn’t contain some pending project that I never quite get around to doing. Janks! Well, provided I actually get the stuff listed above…

Next up in the world of closets is this monstrosity:

Guest sitting room closet

Guest sitting room closet

Guest sitting room closet close up of horror

Guest sitting room closet close up of horror

2 Responses to “The Summer of Closets has begun!”

  1. Jenna Tossava July 5, 2013 at 8:05 am #

    Hi Erica, Hope all is well!  I am not able to post comments on Trixie and Taggy’s page for some reason but I do look periodically 😀  I crack up every time I see him, especially when he is lounging with one of the cats!!!!  Who would of known LOLOLOLOL!  I don’t think before he came to be with you that he ever even seen a cat!  Great pics thanks for that great blog!!!!

    Jenna

    • Erica Walch July 5, 2013 at 2:47 pm #

      Hi Jenna,
      Oh, I don’t know why you can’t post comments on Tumblr — sorry! Yeah, he’s pretty content with his kitty friends and his girlfriend Trixie — he follows her everywhere. I’m so glad you can check in with him via Internet. No one could believe Taggy just turned 9!
      Erica

Leave a Reply

