Leopard paper back up

15 Apr

The leopard wallpaper I used in this bathroom is discontinued (I discovered this a few years ago when I wanted to paper the ceiling with the same), so I only have a few precious scraps of it. Luckily, it’s a totally random match (and it’s dark in there) so you can basically throw up an uneven piece anywhere and no one is the wiser. So here is the completed wallpaper patching:

Wallpaper fixed.

Wallpaper fixed.

Art back up.

Art back up.

Not bad if I do say so myself. And you may also notice that I skim coated and sanded the ceiling. Now a wise person would have painted and primed the ceiling prior to putting the artwork back, but it was all sitting on my washing machine and I needed to do some laundry, (plus I don’t have any more of the gold paint), so I figured I’d put up the paper and re-hang the artwork first, then I’ll be very very careful (ha ha ha) when I prime and paint.

In other news, I did a little re-org with some of the art in there and moved this print to the kitchen on what had been an unforgivably bare wall:

Woodcut from Assisi.

Woodcut from Assisi.

 

Whenever I go to Assisi, I pick up one or two of these remarkable woodcuts from an artist there. I think it looks nicer here than in the powder room.

Here are two others by the same artist also in the ktichen:

Two other Assisis views

Two other Assisis views

Closer shot

Closer shot

 

They are all views of Assisi or scenes from Saint Francis’ life. They’re beautiful and intricate. I have them all around the house and like to give them as gifts, too.

So that’s the news here.

3 Responses to “Leopard paper back up”

  1. erin@designcrisis April 17, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    Wow……….. I just cought up on your (mis)adventures and I don’t even know where to start!

    1) New bathroom looks fantastic and the budget knocked my socks off.

    2) I love the leopard wallpaper. Duh.

    3) Your leaky/gushy pipes scare the bleep out of me, and make me just a tiny bit thankful for my modern (albeit boring) plumbing. I grew up in an edwardian house and it was always under major roofing/plumbing/flooring construction. Basically it is a lot of work helping an old house to survive.

    You are doing a fantastic job! I salute you.

    • Erica Walch April 17, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

      Thanks! Well, you’ve got your rugs and I’ve got me plumbing. And the pipes are spectacularly 21st century now — all plastic and what not. 🙂

  2. erin@designcrisis April 17, 2013 at 11:26 am #

    CAUGHT!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

