Scraping and Fiddling

23 Mar

I’d not installed the tank bolts properly yesterday, so I fiddled around and got them in the right way (rubber washers go against the toilet, metal washers go against the metal screws and nuts is apparently the mantra to remember) so that stopped them leaking. The toilet now works — flushes and fills. It needs a little fine-tuning, though, so I’m going to ask my loo guru Rob to come and help me if he has the time this weekend. But I’m thrilled that I could do most of it on my own and am looking forward to learning from him what I didn’t finesse properly.

Toilet! Flushing! Working!

Toilet! Flushing! Working!

After I finished that, I gave the woodwork a good (well, good enough) scrape. The ceiling is luan and that may be why it looks like it’s full of lead ladders… I’m sure the trim is painted with lead paint, but I didn’t think the luan ceiling was that old. Anyway, I could care less about lead dust at this point, I’m sure I’ve snorted up quarts of the stuff by this time. We only use 10% of our brain anyway.

Scraped ceiling.

Scraped ceiling.

 

Detail of window.

Detail of window.

Scraped window frame

Scraped window frame

So the window frame is in really sad shape. I’m just going to scrape it for now and give it a good coat of paint. And let’s face it, that is probably all I’m going to do. But while scraping it, I had the fantasy of hiring someone to come over the summer and take it apart, scrape the wood properly and replace the rotted bits and then reconstruct it. That was probably the lead talking.

And here’s the radiator, which I probably will take off this summer and bring down to the autobody shop (Performance Motoring, I think — it’s on Saint James Ave) that sandblasted and repainted the radiator in the other bathroom. This I probably really will do. It’s easy at least for me), inexpensive, looks great, and makes the radiator heat more efficiently.

Radiator and scraping results

Radiator and scraping results

Here’s a couple of neat details — the old yale lock (all the doors had these and some also had deadbolts, from the house’s many years as a rooming house), and a really interesting twisted brass robe hook on the door:

Old yale lock

Old yale lock

Neat old twisted brass rack

Neat old twisted brass rack

And the view from the bathroom window is pretty fine. Sometimes I forget how high up that top floor is.

The view from the bathroom window

The view from the bathroom window

You can see the Museums parking lots in the foreground, Chestnut Tower (the tall one) on the right, South Church’s Moorish steeple (on Maple Street), the planetarium, and St. Michael’s Cathedral steeple. And the cold sky. Sigh, when is Spring going to spring?

And lastly, Trixie snuggling.

Trixie snuggling in bed

Trixie snuggling in bed

2 Responses to “Scraping and Fiddling”

  1. Danielle March 23, 2013 at 10:08 am #

    Holy cow, the radiator. I had to tell my husband as soon as I saw this. We’ve been looking for a place locally that would sandblast our old kitchen vent fan; it’s got lots and lots of old paint and gunk built up on it. We want to electroplate it in chrome but we can’t find anyone around here who’d do that, either. Now I know where to go for the sandblasting! THANK YOU.

    The window trim: is it built in or can you take it down with maybe a crowbar? That sounds daunting, especially for antique trim, but I did something like it once, and the result was pretty satisfactory. I wonder if you could use wood putty (or something, I forget what it’s called, but it’s legit!) in the dinged or rotted spots after sanding it down nicely?

    Sorry, it’s Saturday morning and I’m feeling particularly ambitious this morning myself. Good luck! I’ve been admiring the view of that window for a while, thinking it would a wonderful place to settle into a warm bath with a glass of red. 🙂

    • Erica Walch March 23, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

      Hi Danielle — Let me know if you have trouble finding the actual name/location of that place. If you search on this site for “sink legs” I think you’ll find it, plus before and after photos of the radiator. What I had done was a great solution for the radiator and sink legs, but NOT good for the sink basin they did. The paint started peeling where the water hit it within a few months.

      I’m such a ham-fisted clod that doing work with things like putty on narrow window sills is beyond my scope. Demo? Painting walls? That’s me. Fine fiddly things? Not so much. So I think if I wind up doing anything to fix the window, I’ll outsource that job.

Leave a Reply

