Primed

23 Mar

File under “it’s amazing what a coat of paint can do”. I primed the walls and ceiling and some of the trim. I’m only doing primer on the ceiling, because I do hope to put a tin ceiling in soon-ish (within the next two years) and besides, a couple coats of primer is as good as paint if it’s the same color. And it did take a couple of coats. But now look — shiny! new! white! clean! yay!

Starting to paint the ceiling

Starting to paint the ceiling

Everything primed.

Everything primed.

You will note my OSHA approved painting platform (a hassock from the other room) in the second photo.

And here’s what the walls and trim look like primed:

Primed corner.

Primed corner.

Window party primed (and still wet).

Window party primed (and still wet).

It looks so crisp and hygenic that I’m wondering if I should keep the walls light, but I do like a dark wall, so I’ll paint one of the walls blue and see how it looks against the tile and ceiling. That primer is pretty amazing, so I can absolutely paint over the blue if I decide to go lighter. I used (leftover) Gripper primer by Glidden. It does indeed grip — I scrubbed the daylights out of my hand and it’s still all covered in paint.

While I was standing on the hassock in the tub, I got a visit from a little spider, which of course made me feel like I had them crawling all over me. I was wishing the boys from Merlin were there to restore the balance of nature for me, but since they weren’t, I just left the little guy to crawl around.

If ever there was a time I needed Bradley James and Colin Morgan in my bathroom, this is that time.

If ever there was a time I needed Bradley James and Colin Morgan in my bathroom, this is that time.

Leave a Reply

