Day one of Guest Bathroom

1 Mar

Day one went well. No explosions. The guys are really neat — I expected tons of dust and debris everywhere, but there wasn’t much at all.

They took up the floorboards and are preparing for the plumber. The electrician did some exploration of the wall. No dubloons found, as far as I know.

They did find that someone in the past (and I think the not-too-distant past) had planned to put a bathroom in that top floor room because there was a Y pipe installed to tap into the waste pipe. Unfortunately, it cracked and was sealed up with that expandable foam in a can (which  is why I think it wasn’t that long ago — how long has that stuff even been on the market?) and some chicken wire.  Chicken wire and expandable foam are two of my main hole fixers, so I totally understand the choice. Unfortunately, it didn’t really work, so the plumber has to replace a lot of the pipe.

Here are some photos: I’m so excited about this project!

During: the floor up and open.

During: the floor up and open.

During: This is where the new electric line will run for the water heater and outlet, plus the exposed romex will get hidden.

During: This is where the new electric line will run for the water heater and outlet, plus the exposed romex will get hidden.

During: The chase opened in the third floor bathroom. Note the use of expandable foam to block the cracked vent pipe. I would totally do that Mickey Mouse method. Plumber recommends against it.

During: The chase opened in the third floor bathroom. Note the use of expandable foam to block the cracked vent pipe. I would totally do that Mickey Mouse method. Plumber recommends against it.

During: scary view down the vent pipe into the bowels of the house. Ha ha.

During: scary view down the vent pipe into the bowels of the house. Ha ha.

During: This shows where some former owner planned to put in a bathroom. Sadly, it's broken so a bunch of the pipe must be replaced.

During: This shows where some former owner planned to put in a bathroom. Sadly, it’s broken so a bunch of the pipe must be replaced.

2 Responses to “Day one of Guest Bathroom”

  1. Danielle Bourdon McCauley March 1, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    How old is your house? I’m sure you’ve mentioned it somewhere, but my goodness, does it have some charm.

    I hope the reno continues to go well! You’re right, they sure are neat! O_O I wish we had as much luck with ours! We recently had our attic and walls insulated (we had 0 insulation!), and boy did they leave a mess.

    Can’t wait to see more progress 🙂

    (Oh, and btw, I don’t mean to be creepy. My feed tells me you have new entries, so I come look.)

    • Erica Walch March 2, 2013 at 7:17 am #

      Hi — I love getting comments, so I don’t think you’re creepy at all! My house was built in 1872, so it’s 141 years old. The house was a rooming house for at least 70 years (I’m working on finding out more house history) and not many changes were made to it since the 1920s.

Leave a Reply

