Little checkered curtains in the monkey room

1 Sep

I love to use little curtains to hide junky areas. I have very cute little curtains (from Savers) covering up the recycling area in the kitchen, and have used little sink skirts in homes past.

The monkey room (my office, cat HQ, and lounging area number 4) has a bank of bookshelves that I had built when I first moved in. They take up an entire wall and are quite handy for holding things. But they’re kind of unsightly. So I found some very cute (and not too dear) checkered fabric at Osgood’s the other day and sewed up these cute little curtains to hide some of the junque.

Looking at the photos, I realize that the upper shelves need to be tidied up, so I’ll tackle that this afternoon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Fabric: $21.00 (three yards at $7.00/yd), curtain rods: $10 (2 @ $5.00 each) — total cost: $31 and about 30 minutes of rod installation and sewing. A great thing about checks and stripes is that you don’t have to mark the fabric, you can just use the lines as guides, so it speeds up the process.

Leave a Reply

