Embassy Style

21 Jul

There used to be a flag pole mount in the window over the front door, but I think it must have come out when the new storm windows were installed. One of the 1975 photos shows an American flag flying over the front door, and I remember the flag pole mount being there when I first moved in (I tried to put a pole that was too small in it, and then abandoned the whole flag thing when it didn’t fit).

But now with my nice blue stoop, I wanted to fly Old Glory. Never one to do things by half measures, I decided to install two poles, so I could fly the American flag plus others. I’ve got the English flag flying right now in celebration of the Queen’s Jubilee. I’ve also had the French flag up for Bastille Day, and have an Olympics flag coming soon. I figured if I have long-term guests from other countries, I’ll fly their national flag, too.

It looks like an embassy (which also kind of reminds me of the house next to the Royal Tennenbaums), and I love it!

On a how-to note: I installed the two surface mount pole brackets in the granite sill by first drilling pilot holes with a masonry bit, then using concrete anchors and screws. I went through two complete battery charges per bracket mounting. It was hard, slow work. I tried those blue masonry screws first, but they were useless, so a neighbor showed me the correct method. Those babies aren’t going anywhere — they are SOLID.

4 Responses to “Embassy Style”

  1. Danielle July 25, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    Okay, so, I’m totally guilty of finding your blog recently and reading *years* into the past here. I’m a Springfield resident too (up in Sixteen Acres) and I kind of forget how I found your blog, but I LOVE what you’re doing. So much. And the work you’ve done is insanely inspiring! This entry threw me over the edge and I HAD to mention how much I love what you’re doing, especially in this city. I’m not native, and most of downtown Springfield has been brought up negatively by most people I know in the area. You give me hope. 🙂

    • Erica Walch July 26, 2012 at 7:04 am #

      Hi Danielle — downtown is GREAT! I love living here and don’t understand why people are so down on Springfield. Thanks for the nice words about the house work. Have you seen http://www.ChooseSpringfieldMass.com? It’s a site a friend and I created to celebrate what’s great about living in Springfield — we’re always looking to add to the “Faces of Spfld” section. Would you want to be part of that?

      • Sassu July 30, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

        What does being a part of it entail? I’m interested, but also kind of terrified of the power of the internet. 🙂

        I think I found your blog via choosespringfieldmass.com, actually. I was looking up all the historical parts of the city.

      • Erica Walch July 31, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

        Well, if you wanted to be one of the “Faces of Springfield”, I’d come over your house, take a photo, ask some questions, and write up a profile and put it on Choose Spfld. You could also be a contact person for 16 Acres if you’d like.

Leave a Reply

