Electric Avenue — Teal

23 Jun

So there I was, minding my own business, when I could no longer stand looking at my dirty, grimey, soot covered entryway and hallway. I’d always planned to do the hallways and stairwells after an additional bathroom is added on the top floor of the house. That plumbing project is going to be expensive, dirty, disruptive, and a major PITA. But once it’s done, there will be no more tramping up and down the stairs with heavy scrapey things (unless something breaks).

However…. especially with the dining room and living room looking so nice…. I just couldn’t take it anymore. So I started painting the hallway.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I decided not to remove the wallpaper and just paint over it instead. This is (a) because I’m lazy and (b) because this is load-bearing wallpaper and sometimes it’s just better to leave it alone.

So I decided on a sort of “electric teal” with an old-fashioned blueish color for trim. All in semi-gloss. Why? Why not! It’s only paint.

I think I’m going to love it. But I may hate it. We’ll see…. all the photos are showing wet paint, so it will look quite different when dry. I’m hoping to finish this project by the end of June.

Leave a Reply

