Purple Parlor

18 Jun

Has every Victorian house had a purple room at some point in its history? Perhaps. Mine does now. A purple parlor. I painted the living room over the weekend. After I put in the white carpet in the dining room, I found the red living room a bit too dark and oppressive. I went with Martha Stewart’s “Violet Aster” in the new (I guess) Behr “self-priming flat enamel” — not to be confused with the Behr paint and primer in one. What’s the difference? Who knows. Nobody at Home Depot knew. But the paint was lovely and went on very nicely. I couldn’t have done it without the help and support of the pets.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I used a gallon plus a quart (I could have done it with a gallon if I did it all in one day and didn’t waste paint in the clean-up process) and put on two coats. With the paint and two roller covers (which I treat as single-use disposable items), it cost about $55 and maybe six hours of work (hard to say, because I took a lot of socialization breaks). I looooooove the color — the room seems very bright and airy. And Rod and Darlene look great in purple, too!

9 Responses to “Purple Parlor”

  1. erin@designcrisis June 20, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

    HOLY SH*TBALLS, that is insane!

    Sorry to be sophomoric, but I think it was totally warranted.

    I was so not feeling the crazy purple, but I love it. Love. It.

  2. erin@designcrisis June 20, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

    PS, you really need to get a photographer in there, if for no other reason than peeps will flock to your B&B. Try a local college.

    • Erica Walch June 21, 2012 at 5:03 am #

      The lady from Air BnB is coming back to re-shoot with lights in July when I’ve completed some more projects. Also, I mentioned to her that I was looking for someone to help me wallpaper a stairwell and she said she could help! So I’m hoping for a two-fer of wallpapering and photogrraphy:)
      If I could afford it, I’d fly you and your family out to do the photos! Your house is always gorgeous in your photos.
      Anyway, glad you like the crazy purple!

  3. Leah June 20, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

    i love this color! looks fantastic.

    • Erica Walch June 21, 2012 at 6:35 am #

      Thanks!

  4. erin@designcrisis June 21, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    Lady, I would be all about it!

  5. writinginitaly June 25, 2012 at 5:56 am #

    When you first mentioned purple, I imagined an eggplant purple that seems to be all the rage these days. But your purple is spectacular. The paintings look great on it…the dark drapes make it pop. Love it.

  6. Sara Beamish June 26, 2016 at 8:30 pm #

    The room looks beautiful! Thank you so much for posting photos, and leaving them up! I was debating this color for our main bathroom, and you’ve totally sold it as a beautiful purple. Thanks again 🙂

    • Erica Walch June 27, 2016 at 8:54 pm #

      I’m so glad you like it! I love it and it still looks great a few years later.

Leave a Reply

