The danger of fixing one thing up…

22 May

… is that all the other stuff around it looks shabby.

I’m finding my living room sort of dark and gloomy now that the adjoining dining room is bright and carpeted. So I’m thinking of re-arranging some existing furniture (heavy lifting anyone?) and painting the walls a light blush color. I’m eyeballing Martha Stewart’s “Nasturtium Pink” which looks (from the 1 cm square sample in her color book) to be a dusky pink with just a bit of orange. I wonder what painting over the dark red walls will do to it? Undoubtedly it will require a gazillion coats.

Here are some images of the color:

http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/scotts-cozy-treasure-palace-gr-161597 (the office, not the dining room)

http://www.marthastewart.com/333162/decorating-with-damask-fabric#/333017

http://www.homedepot.com/buy/paint/paint-samples-posters-fan-decks/martha-stewart-living/8-oz-nasturtium-interior-paint-tester-msl043-79687.html

 

2 Responses to “The danger of fixing one thing up…”

  1. erin@designcrisis May 31, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    I need living room pictures… I think teal or pink could be awesome but I need context.

    • Erica Walch May 31, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

      I’m planning to do teal in the hallway outside of the living room and am now considering lavender. I *may* be getting a beautiful oriental rug on Saturday that will be helpful in the color decision process.

Leave a Reply

