Window Boxes

20 May

The winter of 2010-2011 was the worst one we’d had around here in a looooong time. When the snow finally melted, I was seized by the need for flowers and went nuts looking for flower boxes that would work in my front windows. I finally settled on some open metal basket types with that coconut husk thing that goes inside (thinking they’d be light weight and would match the overall black metal situation). I had no way to install them properly and jerry-rigged something crazy with wires and brackets hanging out of the storm windows. I thought they were lovely and definitely gudenov, but the neighbors across the street had other ideas. “Crooked.” “Do you want me to straighten those out for you?” “Those are going to fall.” “And they’re crooked.” Whatevs.

So this year I decided to reinstall them more securely (last year’s method was in danger of popping out the storm windows). I got some big eyes (from hook and eyes) and carefully (ha ha ha) installed them in the wooden frame. put some black metal link chain on s-hooks and roped it around. The screens don’t close all the way, but they’re much safer and I don’t have all that wire everywhere. I left them a little crooked anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

