Carpet decision

1 May

I was dithering about what to do for carpeting in the dining room for weeks (or months really). I originally wanted leopard wall-to-wall. It turned out to be very expensive (around $2500). I then thought I’d get an area rug, but none of the ones I looked at really worked. But one of the rugs I brought home to try out was very light and that made me think of light colored (not leopard) wall-to-wall.

So I returned the light colored area rug to the home depot and picked up about a million carpet samples. The guy at the checkout noted that if I got a few more samples, I’d have enough to carpet the whole room. They were all in the beige and ivory family, and I finally decided on one (after a lot of to-ing and fro-ing) and it has been ordered. Hurrah!

Now I’m awaiting my install date, but before they come to install it, I need to fix the cracks in the marble hearth (and give the whole mantle a good polish) and paint the pocket door floor track (white).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ordering white carpet for the dining room may have been ill-advised, but I’m planning to serve only cauliflower, butter, and cream of wheat for the first few years.

I think I’ll satisfy my leopard craving by finding some nice fabric and making leopard drapes to replace the old and tattered ones that are there. I wonder if the person I bought them from on eBay would like to buy them back from me?

One Response to “Carpet decision”

  1. erin@designcrisis May 3, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    test

Leave a Reply

