Dear CVS, I’m not who you think I am…

17 Feb

I got a mailer from CVS the other day that promised “Over $100 in valuable coupons just for you.” Great, I thought. Well, it turns out CVS has seriously misunderstood me — either that or someone else is using my ExtraValue card. The coupons were all for diabetes and incontinence products. I am very happy to report that I am neither diabetic nor incontinent.

I have bought the following items at CVS in the past few months: cashews (they have really good cashews), vitamin D-3 pills, hair dye, lipstick, toilet paper, and eggs (when they were on sale for 99cents). I don’t know how that adds up to someone who needs Depends and Glycerna, but apparently it does.

The folks at CVS really need to tweak their algorithm. I would have loved “over $100 in coupons” on any or all of the things that I really buy there (especially those cashews!). What’s the point of giving up all that personal shopping data if they don’t know how to interpret it? You’re falling down on the job, Big Brother.

Leave a Reply

