RIP Skunkie

21 Sep

My beloved dog Skunkie had to be put to sleep today. She had a previously undiscovered large tumor in her stomach which suddenly began bleeding and she got really sick really quickly. Yesterday morning she was running around, eating, doing all her normal dog routine, and last night she just became extremely lethargic and didn’t want to sleep in bed with me. She snuck out of the bedroom overnight and threw up blood — a horrible, black mess. I took her to the ER and they ran a bunch of tests and found that she had this great big tumor that had suddenly begun bleeding. It had probably been there for some time, and the prognosis of dogs with stomach cancer is two months to live after discovery of the tumor. So she may have outlived the expectations.

The life expectancy of a pit bull is 8-10 years and Skunkie was about 15, so she outlived that expectation, too. Operating to remove the tumor would have been risky (due to the bleeding and her age), and would not have prolonged her life for more than a few months if she survived it, and without the surgery, there was no way for her to be comfortable at home. She became unable to eat (in the blink of an eye), and she would have starved or bled to death at home. So the compassionate thing was to put her sleep. She was so unlike herself since last night. I’m sorry that she suffered at all, but one day of suffering in a long and happy life is not such a bad deal. I miss her terribly, and it’s going to be awfully hard to adjust to living without her. She and the cats always followed me wherever I went in the house, we were a big pack. She’d been my best friend for such a long time. The house already feels empty without her snoring and running around.

Rest in peace, little Skunkarella. You brought so much love and joy to my life. I’ll never forget your loving presence.

Final photo of Skunkie. ?/?/199? -- 9/21/2011

6 Responses to “RIP Skunkie”

  1. little augury September 21, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    so dear, and very heartbreaking but all is well as she is running with the pack now in no pain, as I have said more often than I can remember-dogs do go to heaven and if they don’t I want to go where they went. they are the best.. PGT

    • Erica Walch October 2, 2011 at 10:09 am #

      Thank you.

  2. Mr.B September 23, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    I am so sorry. I had to put to sleep my last dog and I still feel bad she had a few bad hours before the end, but it is up us to make the hard decisions in the big picture. It sounds like she had a long and happy life! I am sending positive thoughts your way.
    xo

    • Erica Walch October 2, 2011 at 10:11 am #

      Thank you, too.

  3. priscilla October 3, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    Beautiful Skunkie.
    I’m so sorry.

    • Erica Walch October 3, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

      I think she’s still here in spirit, snuggling up with the kitties.

Leave a Reply

