$6.50 of curtain magic

2 Sep

I had made drapes to go on the pocket doors. I used some of the gorgeous dark blue brocade fabric that I used for the curtains in the living room (parlor, parlor, parlor). They look fabulous on the windows. They looked kind of lame on the pocket doors. I had to take them down for paint removal anyway, and I had the brain storm to put them up over the false door/coat rack area that lives next to the main doors. What a good idea!

A couple of years ago (December 2008, to be exact), I put up some hooks to hold coats in the false door. So today I went to Home Depot and got a closet clothes rod ($6.50) to hold the curtains. It makes a HUGE difference. It looks great with the other door curtains. I thought it might be too much, but pas de tout. I have to hem them and do something about the goopy paint remover that got on them, but those things will happen later. For now, I’m enjoying having that little doorway out of sight.

Leave a Reply

