Pocket doors round two

25 Aug

I remembered why I was dreading doing these. The dust, ugh. It gets everywhere, including up my snout, even though I’m wearing a mask. I look like I have a deep mahogany tan, too. It’s such a mess. But the end is nigh.

I gave up on these doors last fall (early November) when I ran out of personal steam and also needed to turn on the steam heat. I’ve been working like a dog all summer (not my dog, whose idea of work is choosing which couch she’ll sleep upon, but like a busy dog, maybe one that works on a farm or teaches English), but have this week off-ish. I did prep work yesterday (napping was involved), but have been uncharacteristically industrious today, completing the final sanding of the dining room side of the doors. This just as the power sander bit the dust, as it were.

So am going to explore chemical stripper in the basement for the parlor/living room side of the doors. It’s too much for my feeble arms to sand by hand without the electric sanding guy. I’m hoping to get them both in their barest state today and start the staining process tomorrow. I’d like them done by September 1. They look pretty fab, if I do say so myself. And they’re going to be AMAZING once they’re all stained and sealed.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Responses to “Pocket doors round two”

  1. Alexis L. August 25, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Bravo! Stripping paint is no easy feat and the dust from sanding or the fumes from stripper or the gunk from heat gunning seems endless at times. Well done. Looking forward to seeing the finished product.

    • Erica Walch August 25, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

      Thanks! It’s a pain, but will definitely be worth it in the end. And if I put the photos up on the blog and the house gets washed away by Hurricane Irene, I’ll have documentary evidence for the insurance company… If we survive the big storm, the arts festival is next weekend — you and the mister are very welcome to come and visit (and stay over if you don’t mind the bathtub sharing).

Leave a Reply

