Let the purging begin!

4 Jan

Before Christmas, I sold $10.41 worth of old US coins for $200.07 on ebay (net profit about $175 after fees and shipping miscalculations). This success and the experience of de-Christmasing the house has sent me into a purging frenzy. I’ve been looking at every room in the house to see what I can eliminate and make some money from. There is a lot I can eliminate… we’ll see about the income generation part. Tomorrow I begin listing stuff on CL and ebay. Jewelry I never wear, decorative things that have no function other than dust gathering, more coins and some stamps. Maybe some old books, too.

Now, I’m not going as far as the zero-waste family I saw on Sunset mag via Apartment Therapy. BUT, I will say that I have gotten rid of all my worldly possessions three times in my life (moving countries), and even when I moved into this house (nearly nine years ago) did away with much of what I’d had at my previous home. I have always liked the idea of a fresh start. This purge is a bit different — I’m hoping very much to keep the stuff in the house to a more manageable level. Not everything has to have a function, but a bit less stuff will be a breath of fresh air. And maybe help pay for that big plumbing job that’s coming soon.

2 Responses to “Let the purging begin!”

  1. p gaye tapp January 4, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    it is so true-I did some ebay before the holidays with just Christmas decorations. I am going to do the same!

    • Erica Walch January 5, 2011 at 6:21 am #

      I wish us both very good luck! I’m putting some listings up on CL right now!

Leave a Reply

