Holiday Home Tour a success (phew!)

8 Dec

On Sunday, I opened up two floors of my house for a fundraiser Holiday Home Tour for the Springfield Preservation Trust. This was the reason I was furiously painting and cleaning for the past fortnight or so. I had alternating feelings of panic (I don’t have enough decorations! Everyone’s going to think my hallways are ghastly) and resignation (eh, ornaments shornaments, halls, schmalls).

In the end, all was well (as it always is, as Julian of Norwich was fond of saying). The people on the tour were extremely nice and appreciative of our (there were six homes on the tour) opening our places up. When the president of the Trust came by, I said to him “Well, this is the understated version of Christmas decor,” (mind you, dear reader, this is the most my house has EVER been done up for Christmas and I borrowed quite a few decorations). He replied, “Well, it’s a continuum of ornament on this tour.” Ha ha! Some of the places had a chicken in every pot and a tree in every room. I love my crooked old tree and my vintage ornaments, and it’s a delight to have a clean house and a freshly painted kitchen, so I’m considering the tour a win-win.

2 Responses to “Holiday Home Tour a success (phew!)”

  1. Teresita Alicea January 10, 2011 at 11:35 am #

    Hi

    I really enjoyed the house tour, particularly your home and judy matt’s. Much success in your endeavors.

    I meant to go back and ask you about the two house paintings in your sitting area, but kept running into so many people I forgot. can you tell me a little bit about them???

    Happy New year,

    Teresita Alicea

    • Erica Walch January 10, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

      Hi Teresita — I’m glad you liked the tour! The paintings are by an artist named Jorge Costa. I bought them when he had a studio at the Indian Orchard Mills (c. 2004). He subsequently was involved with that little studio in I.O. that closed (and had a number in its name, but I don’t remember it). I adore his work. The last time I saw him, he was working on some conceptual art installations. He is young — around mid-30s I think — and has taught at several local and CT colleges. I haven’t seen him in a few years, which I regret, as he’s one of my favorite artists and I’d love to know what he’s up to.

      These two paintings were from a series that also included another model, a young woman. They all have the same dark background, and feature different groupings of the three models. The people in my paintings are Rod and Darlene, who were unknown to each other until the sitting. I think they seem very known to each other, which I attribute to Jorge’s skill in painting.

Leave a Reply

