Should I paint my kitchen ceiling black?

26 Aug

I’m going to be re-painting my kitchen in September or October. I know I’ve been in my house for a while if one of the rooms actually needs a re-paint. I’d been planning on using basically the same colors (dark brown walls, light beige trim), and then one day I looked up. And I saw the white ceiling. It’s the last one in the house. I hate white ceilings. So I thought, “hey, you (meaning I) are getting a couple more light fixtures, why not paint it black. If you (me again) hate it, just paint over it.”

So that’s the plan. Here are some inspiration photos. Any thoughts?

2 Responses to “Should I paint my kitchen ceiling black?”

  1. Alexis L., The Studioist August 30, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    If you have high ceilings (and I am pretty sure you do), go for it! I think the inspiration photos are lovely and this would add some real panache to the space.

    And as you said, if you hate it, you only need a couple of coats of paint to change it.

  2. Kris September 1, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    Might be a bit of a downer in the winter, as that room is already dark.

Leave a Reply

