And “HA!” again.

15 Jun

Yesterday was spent removing, fixing, and reinstalling beadboard in the area near the toilet (after first removing the toilet). The paneling in this area was originally all mahogany and was badly stained by urine from when the house was a men-only boarding house (why are men so disgusting?). There was also a huge inexplicable hole (the portal to hell) in the wall. So I combined mahogany and poplar, and will stain the poplar to look more mahogany-ish.

There is also a strangely-angled corner covering the vent pipe that goes to the roof. I’ve squared it off below, and am undecided about how to proceed above, but have a good week before I have to think about it.

Today the tub comes out and I finish up the wood work.

3 Responses to “And “HA!” again.”

  1. El June 17, 2010 at 2:18 am #

    I do not envy this work but I’m very glad I found your blog!

    • Erica Walch June 17, 2010 at 11:20 am #

      Thanks. The end is nigh! I love your blog and am imagining diving in to a plate of that luscious strawberry shortcake.

  2. Alexis L. June 23, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    Much as I adore historical homes, it’s things like urine-soaked beadboard that help me understand why some people will only buy new construction.

Leave a Reply

