Green fatigue

30 Apr

To whom it may concern:
(cc: LonnyMag et al.)

I am so sick of interior design stuff that’s featured as “green” or “eco” or what-the-hell-ever. No more jute! No more articles about low-voc paint! No more wasted glossy pages (printed with soy ink) of energy star dishwashers! BASTA!!!!

I daresay that we all know all there is to know about sustainable wood bowls made by indigenous people whose island is about to be reclaimed by the sea. Can you stop with the preaching and simply give us some nice photos of rooms and stuff we didn’t know we wanted until we saw it?

4 Responses to “Green fatigue”

  1. Michael May 3, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    I think a little part of me just fell in love with you for this…

    Bang on.

  2. Emily May 18, 2010 at 12:06 am #

    I am environmentally conscious, but for me, it is not a fad……AND I have to agree with you completely. So sick of word “Green” being thrown around. It is soooooo yesterday!

  3. Alexis L. June 23, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    Ha ha. I tend to agree. Especially about jute rugs. And especially about ‘green’ which is a color and not a lifestyle. And yet, I’m trying right now to figure out how to make more enivornmentally sensitive buying and living decisions, which will no doubt be reflected in my blog.

    Try not to hate me too much.

  4. Erica Walch June 23, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    I won’t hate you, Alexis! I am all about re-use, recycle, don’t consume too much (hence the phone-camera), keeping up my old house — I just want the mags to leave it alone and stop marketing junk I don’t need as good for the earth and go back to marketing junk I don’t need based solely on its aesthetic appeal. It’s kind of like the junk food biz — if it’s delicious, deep fried junk don’t wrap it in a spinach leaf and tell me it’s healthy.

    Plus, I think it’s just overkill with the mags and they’re using “green” to substitute for good editorial content. Now, if Elle Decor or Lonny Mag engaged in issues of race and class in their mags as you do on your blog, that would be phenomenal.

    Can you imagine, Elle Decor, the Postcolonial Issue? Or Lonny Mag, Feature Story: what does your “ironic” lawn jockey really say? Instead of $70 soy candles and replace your perfectly good floor with eco-bamboo.

Leave a Reply

