Plan 5.3

15 Apr

I really don’t want to paint the wood in the bathroom. It’s sooooo beautiful. So I am going to try to remove a large piece of it that was inexplicably placed inside a non-used door frame in the bathroom and substitute it for the destroyed piece. Vediamo.

In other bathroom renovation news, my inability to predict the cost of services continues apace. Had one “handyman” (unlicensed, from Craigslist) come to give a quote for some pretty basic stuff — $1600. I was thinking no way it would cost over $1000. Sometimes I wonder if people give me high quotes b/c they think my big fancy house means I’m rich (not to mention my naturally aristocratic mien). But here I was, covered in sawdust, wearing my Eric Cartman as Beefcake tee shirt and holey, paint-splattered sweatpants, limping around in my aircast for the sprained ankle, and in a room with ripped up vinyl flooring and huge cracks in the walls — no sign of elegance, and the price was still crazy high. Sigh….

So I’m going to *try* to install the tin ceiling myself, patch the plaster (have done this plenty of times before), and move around the beadboard. Found an off-license plumber who can do the rough plumbing for around $150, and now I “just” need to find a handyman who can do the tiling and un-hooking then re-hooking of the plumbing fixtures for maybe five hundred bucks. Hope springs eternal in the heart of me.

2 Responses to “Plan 5.3”

  1. littleaugury April 15, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    Erica- you are amazingly ambitious and all admirable. and yes I think workers size US up all the time-as women, as homeowners. onward! pgt

  2. Erica Walch April 15, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Thanks, Gaye. I think I also need to find someone who will “get” my plan. A couple of people who’ve looked at the project suggested gutting the room (horrors!) and Mr. 1600 also said “you know you could put a shower in here” and after I repeatedly demurred and he repeatedly suggested, I finally told him I’d removed the shower already and would not ever be putting one in. He sort of scratched his head in wonder.

    Someone will turn up who will understand my antiquating mission (and pre-war budget).

Leave a Reply

