Butler’s Pantry

13 Aug

In 2006, my old computer died. I was write in the midst of writing my thesis, and I was able to recover that (thanks to Jim, Mac-man extrodinaire!). BUT all my home photos from 2002 — 2006 were lost. Every now and then I find old discs which I hope will contain some older house photos. Sometimes they do, but more often than not, they don’t.

So you’re just going to have to take my word for what the house looked like in its “before” state. Except for the hallways (which remain papered in the cute, but exhausted green brocadey paper), everything that was not the floor in this house was white. EVERYTHING — the walls, the ceilings, the doors, the trim, the baseboards.

The butler’s pantry was no exception. In fact, it wasn’t a butler’s pantry, just a white room. There had been a door to the dining room, but my friendly neighborhood work crew blocked that up, then we installed the retro shelving. I had a plumber put in the plumbing for the all-in-one unit that had formerly lived in the basement kitchen (somewhere along the way the fridge stopped working, though). My friends and I did the electricity for the stove. I hired someone to install the tin ceiling. I installed the cork flooring. My friend Liz (wife of Mac-man Jim) and I installed the Lincrusta and the Burrows hand-blocked wallpaper. I hired someone to install glass in and re-orient the door to the BP (it used to open the other way, and it was impossible to get food from the BP to the dining room. The countertops are slate. Everyone says it looks like it’s always been here.

I really wish I had those before pictures, because this is a most amazing transformation.

One Response to “Butler’s Pantry”

  1. Abi Tight August 13, 2009 at 2:05 pm #

    Re your photos…did you keep your hard drive? The same thing happened to my computer. My computer peeps told me it was my hard driv e. They tried to take it back. I told them I had lost it then got a hard drive cradle and found out there was nothing wrong with it at all and got all my photos back. For computer companies swapping hard drives is the easiest option.
    I am sorry this happened to you. I know How I felt when I thought I wouldn’t get any photos back. Sick with myself for not saving them somewhere else.
    X Abi http://www.butterflydiaries.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

